University Leadership

Comprehensive list of 2013-2014 University of Tennessee Leadership including the Chancellor's Office, Deans, and Department Heads.

University of Tennessee Leadership 2013-2014

Download the PDF here: UTK Leadership 2013-2014

Chancellor's Office

Jimmy G. Cheek, Chancellor

Susan Martin, Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Professor of Classics

Chris Cimino, Vice Chancellor for Finance & Administration

Taylor Eighmy, Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement

Rickey Hall, Vice Chancellor for Diversity

Dave Hart, Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics

Linda Hendricks, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources

Margie Nichols, Vice Chancellor for Communications

Scott Rabenold, Vice Chancellor for Development and Alumni Affairs

Vincent Carilli, Vice Chancellor for Student Life

 Student Life STAFF:

  Perry Newman, Assistant Director of Administrative Services

  Melissa Shivers, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Life

  Mark Alexander, Director of Administrative Services

  Tim Boruff, Assistant Director of Administrative Services

  Traci Leonard, Student Affairs Communications

Office of the Provost

Dr. Susan Martin, Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor

Carolyn Hodges, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

Sally McMillan, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

John Zomchick, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Betsy Adams, Budget Director


Beyl, Dr. Caula,  College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Blaze, Douglas A.,  College of Law

Brown, Dr. William F., Tennessee Agricultural Experiment Station

Cross, Dr. Tim,  UT Extension, University Outreach & Continuing Education

Davis, Dr. Wayne T.,  College of Engineering

Hodges, Dr. Carolyn R.,  The Graduate School

Lee, Dr. Theresa M., College of Arts and Sciences

Neutens, Dr. James J, Graduate School of Medicine

Niederhauser, Dr. Victoria, College of Nursing

Poole, Mr. Scott, College of Architecture & Design

Rider, Dr. Robert, College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences

Smith, Dr. Steven, University Libraries

Sowers, Dr. Karen, College of Social Work

Thompson, Dr. James, College of Veterinary Medicine

Williams, Dr. Jan, College of Business Administration

Wirth, Dr. Michael, College of Communication and Information

UT Department Heads

(listed by school and departments)

Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Agricultural & Resource Economics, Delton Gerloff

Animal Sciences, F. Neal Schrick

Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science, Eric Drumm

Entomology & Plant Pathology, Parwinder Grewal

Food Science, Dr. Mark Morgan

Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries, Keith Belli

Plant Sciences, Scott Senseman

Architecture & Design

Architecture, Scott Wall

Interior Design, J. David Matthews

Landscape Architecture, Gale Fulton

Arts & Sciences

Anthropology, Andrew Kramer

Art, Dorothy Habel

Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology, Dan Roberts

Chemistry, Charles Feigerle

Classics, Christopher Craig

Earth and Planetary Sciences, Larry McKay

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Randall Small, Interim

English, Stan Garner

Geography, Derek Alderman

History, Ernest Freeberg

Mathematics, Conrad Plaut

Microbiology, Jeff Becker

Modern Foreign Languages & Literatures, Adrian Del Caro

Music, Jeffrey Pappas

Philosophy, David Reidy

Physics & Astronomy, Hanno Weitering

Political Science, John Scheb

Psychology, Deborah Welsh

Religious Studies, Rosalind Hackett

Sociology, Jon Shefner

Theatre, Calvin MacLean

Business Administration

Accounting and Information Management, Joe Carcello, Interim

Economics, William "Bill" Neilson

Finance, James Wansley

Management, Terry Leap

Marketing and Logistics, Mark Moon

Statistics, Operations and Management Science, Kenneth Gilbert

Communication and Information

Advertising and Public Relations, John Haas, Interim

Communication Studies, Virginia W. Kupritz, Acting Director

Information Sciences, Edwin Cortez

Journalism & Electronic Media, Peter Gross

Education, Health & Human Sciences

Child and Family Studies, Mary Jane Morgan

Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, Norma Mertz

Educational Psychology and Counseling, Steve McCallum

Kinesiology, Recreation & Sport Studies, Jeff Fairbrother, interim

Nutrition, Jay Whelan

Public Health, Paul Erwin

Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management, Ann Fairhurst

Theory and Practice in Teacher Education, Sherry Bell


Chemical Engineering, Bamin Khomami

Civil & Environmental Engineering, Dayakar Penumadu

Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, Leon Tolbert

Industrial and Information Engineering, John Kobza

Materials Science & Engineering, Kurt Sickafus

Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering, Matthew Mench

Nuclear Engineering, Wes Hines


Douglas A. Blaze, Dean


Steven Smith, Dean


Victoria Niederhauser, Dean

Social Work  

Karen Sowers, Dean

Veterinary Medicine

Biomedical & Diagnostic Sciences Michael McEntee

Large Animal Clinical Sciences   David E. Anderson

Small Animal Clinical Sciences   Claudia Kirk